image
Low Income Radon Mitigation
Assistance (LIRMA) Program
Policy and Procedures Manual
Revised October 12, 2018

2
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE)
Low Income Radon Mitigation Assistance (LIRMA) Program
PROGRAM DESCRIPTION
The CDPHE, Hazardous Materials and Waste Management Division (HMWMD), Radiation Program, shall use
designated funds from Colorado Revised Statute (CRS) 25-11-114 to provide financial assistance to low-
income individuals for radon mitigation services. The intent of the program is to enhance a safe living
environment for low-income homeowners in Colorado.
LIRMA PROGRAM ELIGIBILITY GUIDELINES
CONTRACTOR ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS
In order to participate in the LIRMA program, a radon mitigation contractor must:
1. Complete an application
2. Meet defined requirements
3. Provide necessary documentation
4. Be approved by the LIRMA program
HOMEOWNER ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS
1. Homeowners must occupy the property as their primary (principal) residence and certify such
occupancy by signing the application.
2. Must be a Colorado resident.
3. Must have proof of ownership to the subject property.
4. Applicant must be considered a low-income household and meet the low income limits specified in the
income table (Appendix A). Annual income based on total adjusted gross income from previous years’
federal income taxes.
5. The following types of homes are eligible for the LIRMA program:
a. Single family dwelling unit;
b. One-to-four unit buildings. The unit occupied by the owner is eligible for mitigation assistance
under the program;
c. Condominium or cooperative unit; or
d. Manufactured homes.
6. A radon test result greater than 4 picoCuries of radon per liter of air (>4pCi/L) (short term test 2-90 days
or a long term test of 91 days-year) from a National Radon Proficiency Program or National Radon
Safety Board (NRPP/NRSB) approved, accurately conducted test kit must be provided with application.
PROGRAM RESTRICTIONS
1. Funding assistance not to exceed $1,500.00 for installation of radon mitigation system and post-
mitigation testing. Costs exceeding $1,500.00 must be approved by the LIRMA Program.
2. A person may not apply for assistance more than one time in a calendar year.
3. Rental units and/or properties listed for sale are
NOT
eligible for this program.
4. Homes with mitigation systems currently installed are
NOT
eligible for mitigation assistance funding or
reimbursement under this program.

3
5. Funding is limited; therefore, applications will be prioritized for funding based on the order received and
completeness of the application. Homeowners with completed applications will be notified if funding is
unavailable and the application will be prioritized for the next round of funding.
PROCEDURES
P1 – RADON CONTRACTOR ELIGIBILITY LIST
1. Contractors who want to be considered for the eligibility list must be certified and in good standing with
the National Radon Proficiency Program (NRPP) or the National Radon Safety Board (NRSB).
2. Contractor completes and signs Radon Contractor’s LIRMA Application form C1 and submits required
documentation to the LIRMA Program:
a. Certificate
of
Fact
of
Good
Standing
from
the
Colorado
Secretary
of
State
(
http://www.sos.state.co.us/
)
b. State Substitute W-9
c. Copy of NRPP or NRSB Certificate or Certification Card
d. A valid liability insurance certificate - Insurance certificate on Accord form must have:
i. $1,000,000 Commercial/General Liability coverage per occurrence
ii. $1,000,000 Auto Liability coverage
iii. $1,000,000 Worker's Comprehensive coverage
3. The LIRMA Program will review the application for completeness and eligibility within 30 days of
receipt.
4. The LIRMA Program may request missing, incomplete or additional information from the applicant.
These requests must be fulfilled within 30 days of the CDPHE request or the application will be
abandoned.
5. If approved, the radon contractor will be notified via telephone and/or email, or if rejected, the radon
contractor will be notified via email with an explanation of rejection. Contractor will not be eligible to
reapply for one year after the date of rejection.
6. Contractor applications may be submitted throughout the year. Approved applicants will be added to the
eligibility list within 30 days of approval.
7. Contractors can request to be removed from the eligibility list at any time by notifying the LIRMA
Program.
8. The LIRMA Program may remove any contractor from the list for noncompliance with radon mitigation
standards or the LIRMA program.
9. Any lapse in insurance and/or certification and the contractor will be removed from the eligibility list (it
is the contractors' responsibility to send applicable insurance, certification, or other updates to the
LIRMA Program).
10. Once approved, the LIRMA program will notify all eligible contractors via email when LIRMA jobs
become available. Interested contractors will contact homeowner and prepare bid for job.
P2 - SUBMISSION OF LIRMA APPLICATION BY APPLICANT
1. The homeowner shall complete and sign the Homeowners LIRMA Application form H1 and submit the
required documentation:
a. Radon test results > 4 pCi/L in the home within 12 months of application;
b. Proof of home ownership – copy of a Warranty Deed or Deed of Trust;
c. Copy of a current mortgage statement;

4
d. Copy of homeowners’ previous years Federal Income Tax Form filed with the Internal Revenue
Service (IRS);
e. Copy of a current Colorado Driver’s License, Identification Card or Military Identification Card.
P3 - APPLICANT ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION AND APPROVAL
1. All applications are processed on a first-come, first-served basis.
2. The LIRMA Program will review the application for completeness and eligibility within 30 days of
receipt.
3. The LIRMA Program may request missing, incomplete or additional information from the applicant.
These requests must be fulfilled within 30 days of the CDPHE request or the application will be
abandoned.
4. If approved, the homeowner will be notified via telephone and/or email, or if rejected, the homeowner
will be notified via email with an explanation of rejection.
5. All award decisions by the LIRMA program are final and not subject to appeal or further review.
However, any applicant may provide feedback on the LIRMA Program implementation and processes at
any time in order to facilitate continuous improvement, efficiency, and effectiveness of the program.
P4 – MITIGATION SYSTEM DESIGN APPROVAL AND INSTALLATION
1. Upon receipt and approval of the homeowner application, the LIRMA Program will send a notice via
email of job availability to LIRMA eligible contractors.
2. Interested LIRMA contractors will have 7 days to submit a mitigation plan and a bid to the LIRMA
program. Mitigation plan must include:
a. A guarantee that the system will reduce radon levels below 4pCi/L;
b. A minimum 5-year warranty on the fan and workmanship;
c. Compliance with contractor declared mitigation standards;
3. An onsite assessment of the home and diagnostics are highly recommended. All bids are FINAL.
4. For homes with a passive Radon Resistant New Construction (RRNC) system
the contractor should
bid the job as follows:
a. If the system
appears
to be usable, propose an initial price for activation of the system with no
guarantee or warranty. If there are obvious issues that would deem the system unusable, explain
what the issues are.
b. Propose an additional cost for the proper abandonment of the RRNC system and the installation
of a new system that would include the standard 5-year warranty.
c. CDPHE will review the proposals and select a contractor. If activation of the system results in
radon levels below 4PCi/L, the job is complete, the standard 5-year warranty is issued to the
consumer and CDPHE pays the contractor the initial portion of the bid. If activation does not
result in levels below 4PCi/L the RRNC system will be properly abandoned and the new system
will be installed at the additional bid price.
5. Phased approach mitigations will NOT be allowed.
6. The LIRMA Program reviews the mitigation plan for compliance with standards and requirements.
7. It is the intent of this program to assist as many low-income homeowners as possible with limited
funding; therefore, the mitigation cost must be justifiable.
8. Homeowner must get Home Owners Association (HOA) approval-if applicable.
9. The LIRMA
program will assign the job to the most appropriate bid.
10. Contractor must obtain any permits required by the local jurisdiction.

5
11. The contractor installs the system within 14 days of approval, according to SOW and the mitigation
plan.
12. Contractor provides an approved post-mitigation test kit to the homeowner and a copy of
warranty/guarantee.
13. The contractor provides post-installation photos of the system to the LIRMA Program. Photos must
contain at minimum:
a. Crawl space cover/slab penetration/sump pit (or other suction point locations);
b. Labeling and manometer on system;
c. Fan;
d. Electrical connections;
e. Termination point.
14. The contractor removes construction waste and debris generated during installation.
P5 - POST INSTALLATION AND PAYMENT
1. The homeowner conducts the contractor provided radon test no sooner than 7 days after installation and
within 30 days of installation. Test results must be provided to the LIRMA program within 45 days post
installation.
2. If test results confirm levels <4pCi/L the contractor will be reimbursed the amount in the final bid.
3. The LIRMA Program has the right to randomly inspect systems for compliance.
P6 – MITIGATION CLOSEOUT
1. The LIRMA Program adds pertinent information to the LIRMA applicant database.
2. Due to the confidential financial information of applicants, all applicable applications, forms and
documentation will be destroyed after payment is made. It is the responsibility of the homeowner to
retain copies of warrantees and guarantees.

6
Appendix A
CDPHE LIRMA PROGRAM LOW INCOME LIMITS
# PERSONS IN HOUSEHOLD
1
PERSON
2
PEOPLE
3
PEOPLE
4
PEOPLE
5
PEOPLE
6
PEOPLE
7
PEOPLE
8
PEOPLE
COUNTY
Adams County
44,900
51,300
57,700
64,100
69,250
74,400
79,500
84,650
Alamosa County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Arapahoe County
44,900
51,300
57,700
64,100
69,250
74,400
79,500
84,650
Archuleta County
35,750
40,850
45,950
51,050
55,150
59,250
63,350
67,400
Baca County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Bent County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Boulder County
46,000
52,600
59,150
65,700
71,000
76,250
81,500
86,750
Broomfield County
44,900
51,300
57,700
64,100
69,250
74,400
79,500
84,650
Chaffee County
34,300
39,200
44,100
48,950
52,900
56,800
60,700
64,650
Cheyenne County
36,750
42,000
47,250
52,500
56,700
60,900
65,100
69,300
Clear Creek County
44,900
51,300
57,700
64,100
69,250
74,400
79,500
84,650
Conejos County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Costilla County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Crowley County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Custer County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Delta County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Denver County
44,900
51,300
57,700
64,100
69,250
74,400
79,500
84,650
Dolores County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Douglas County
44,900
51,300
57,700
64,100
69,250
74,400
79,500
84,650
Eagle County
46,000
52,600
59,150
65,700
71,000
76,250
81,500
86,750
El Paso County
39,800
45,450
51,150
56,800
61,350
65,900
70,450
75,000
Elbert County
44,900
51,300
57,700
64,100
69,250
74,400
79,500
84,650
Fremont County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Garfield County
39,050
44,600
50,200
55,750
60,250
64,700
69,150
73,600
Gilpin County
44,900
51,300
57,700
64,100
69,250
74,400
79,500
84,650
Grand County
42,800
48,900
55,000
61,100
66,000
70,900
75,800
80,700
Gunnison County
38,550
44,050
49,550
55,050
59,500
63,900
68,300
72,700
Hinsdale County
43,700
49,950
56,200
62,400
67,400
72,400
77,400
82,400
Huerfano County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Jackson County
34,900
39,900
44,900
49,850
53,850
57,850
61,850
65,850
Jefferson County
44,900
51,300
57,700
64,100
69,250
74,400
79,500
84,650
Kiowa County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Kit Carson County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
La Plata County
39,600
45,250
50,900
56,550
61,100
65,600
70,150
74,650
Lake County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Larimer County
43,800
50,050
56,300
62,550
67,600
72,600
77,600
82,600
Las Animas County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Lincoln County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Logan County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Mesa County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Mineral County
39,350
44,950
50,550
56,150
60,650
65,150
69,650
74,150
Moffat County
39,550
45,200
50,850
56,500
61,050
65,550
70,100
74,600

7
CDPHE LIRMA PROGRAM LOW INCOME LIMITS
# PERSONS IN HOUSEHOLD
1
PERSON
2
PEOPLE
3
PEOPLE
4
PEOPLE
5
PEOPLE
6
PEOPLE
7
PEOPLE
8
PEOPLE
COUNTY
Montezuma County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Montrose County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Morgan County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Otero County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Ouray County
41,550
47,450
53,400
59,300
64,050
68,800
73,550
78,300
Park County
44,900
51,300
57,700
64,100
69,250
74,400
79,500
84,650
Phillips County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Pitkin County
49,750
56,850
63,950
71,050
76,750
82,450
88,150
93,800
Prowers County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Pueblo County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Rio Blanco County
42,650
48,750
54,850
60,900
65,800
70,650
75,550
80,400
Rio Grande County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Routt County
42,850
49,000
55,100
61,200
66,100
71,000
75,900
80,800
Saguache County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
San Juan County
35,200
40,200
45,250
50,250
54,300
58,300
62,350
66,350
San Miguel County
45,050
51,450
57,900
64,300
69,450
74,600
79,750
84,900
Sedgwick County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Summit County
46,000
52,600
59,150
65,700
71,000
76,250
81,500
86,750
Teller County
42,200
48,200
54,250
60,250
65,100
69,900
74,750
79,550
Washington County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400
Weld County
38,450
43,950
49,450
54,900
59,300
63,700
68,100
72,500
Yuma County
33,600
38,400
43,200
48,000
51,850
55,700
59,550
63,400